IT’S JUST A HILL; GET OVER IT!

  
Any seasoned runner knows, one of the best ways to get a) faster and b) stronger is to run hill repeats. 

I know, it sounds like torture just waiting to happen. And it totally is. The results, though, are so worth the work. 

To run hill repeats, you don’t really have to do anything special. You could find a set of hills and just try to run up them as quickly as possible with rest breaks between each hill. Or, you could find a beast of a hill and run up it and down it for a set number of reps. That’s what I like to do. 

As a mom, I often don’t have a lot of time to go out for a big workout so I need something that is close to home and helps get the job done effectively. Lucky (?) for me, I have a rather large hill leading to my house (plus a few other large hills within a 1-mile radius) and this is where I will go for a quick set of repeats. 

My go-to workout looks like this:

  • 1 mile warm up (or 10 mins)
  • A, B, C drills for 20 steps each/20 steps “jog it out”
  • I set my watch for 2:00min on, 3:00min recovery (my Garmin lets me program workouts and this might be one of my favourite features)
  • Run 6-8 repeats of 400m hill for 2:00 up/3:00 down/recovery 
  • I mark the distance reached on my first interval as this is usually my best one – because I’m terrible at pacing – and then try to at least get that far or past my mark on each consecutive interval
  • If I hit the bottom of the hill before 3:00 is up, I stand still and breathe to bring my heart rate back to normal
  • Cool down 1 mile (or 10 mins)

  
Once every 2-3 weeks of speed workouts I’ll make a hill repeat day. And the coolest part (in a total run-geek sense) is when I just run that hill on a normal day, it really is so much easier. Faster pace + hills get easier = winning. 

Never Stop Exploring ❤️, 

Aimee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

