WHEN 80:20 BECOMES 20:80 – GETTING BACK ON TRACK IN THE KITCHEN

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 2.14.05 PMMy eating has taken a nosedive of late. I follow the 80:20 rule, which for me is a sustainable way of eating and fuelling myself for the role of wife/mother/runner/business owner/etc. What’s that? In short, 80 per cent of the time my meals are whole foods, largely plant-based, limited sugar; 20 per cent of the time wine and cake and chocolate happen.

Well, with the busy of Summer and road trips and late evenings at the lake, things have sort of flipped. I’m not a huge coffee drinker, but these last few months you would never know it. There have been many full-gluten, real cheese on top pizzas for dinner. And I love a good margarita quite frequently as it turns out.

And now my body is cursing me for it all, protesting loudly in the form of fatigue and moodiness, lack of motivation and just that brain fog feeling. Seriously, it has gotten to the point where I can feel it screaming at me for fresh juices from the juicer, salads at every meal and to knock it off with the Americano Mistos. For me, this is going to mean starting the rebuild with a detox week (stay tuned for that post), where basically I eliminate a lot of those “20 per cent” foods from my diet for seven days and focus on juices, smoothies and mindfully prepared whole foods dinners. Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 2.15.33 PM

I’m looking forward to it.

One of my favourite meals for getting back on track in a big way is The Big Vegan Bowl from Oh She Glows. It packs a huge nutritional punch and always leaves me feeling very well-fuelled even into the following morning.

Another “bowl” style meal that is a huge hit in our house is the Buddha Bowl. Even my kids like it, they especially like it when we add sprouted tofu or tempeh to the mix.

Raw Walnut Taco Meat sprinkled on top of a bed of greens, with avocado and some fresh salsa is perfection on a hot Summer evening (heck, or even for lunch). Don’t skimp on the spices. This won’t taste like meat no matter what you add to the mixture, but if you get the spices in there I promise that you will not miss it.

For a filling, fibre-rich (seriously, don’t say I didn’t warn you) afternoon snack: Super Power Chia Bread, also from Oh She Glows, with avocado + nutritional yeast + pink salt + turmeric on top.

Sometimes you just want soup! And I’m a huge fan of being able to walk away from the cooking process to get other important household running tasks accomplished. Lemon Lentil Crockpot Soup does the trick.

And finally, it wouldn’t be Summer without burgers. The Vegan Eggplant Crunch Burger from onegreenplanet.org hits the spot. You can leave out the potato chips if you’re going for something a little healthier, but I figure that’s falling back into the 80:20 rule – you’re having a veggie burger, it’s okay to add chips!

Never Stop Exploring ❤,
Aimee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

