SMOKE SHOW = NO RUNNING + WANING MOTIVATION

Last week Whistler was under what can only be summed up as an apocalyptic-esque cloud of smoke. Check out this blog post for some comparisons and to get an idea as to what we were living in.

Whistler and Blackcomb are in there somewhere , this shot was taken on Blueberry Hill

Whistler and Blackcomb are in there somewhere , this shot was taken on Blueberry Hill

Our Air Quality Health Index ratings were coming in at 35 when 10 is considered “bad”. Windows were shut. Kids were kept inside. Air purifiers and face masks were purchased. Athletic events were cancelled, erring on the side of caution and putting health in the seat of priority in the face of such dismal air quality. Whistler appeared, to one just passing through, to be a ghost town.

It was difficult to get a deep breath. And I think we all felt it. For me, someone who regularly connects with her breath and practices focused breath work on a daily basis, I felt stifled in so many ways. Add to that that there was no outdoor cardio happening, and well, I may have been a tad emotional and cranky.

This week I can feel the aftermath from lack of movement and fresh air. I move and think slower, I am exhausted, and I haven’t been able to motivate my butt out the door for a run (this morning I chose Hot yoga over a run because I needed the time on my mat). I did get to participate in the O2X Summit Challenge on Grouse Mountain this past weekend, thank goodness the air quality improved, and it was such a boost to my overall morale to get out there and MOVE again!

Our windows are open again. Fresh air is circulating. Unfortunately, the fires that brought in that smoke are still zero percent contained, and I am grateful every day that we have brave men and women from all over the world here fighting them and working so hard to get the upper hand.

Renewed GRATITUDE for the fresh air we live in and natural beauty that surrounds us

Renewed GRATITUDE for the fresh air we live in and natural beauty that surrounds us

I’m ready to start running again. I know that getting out there is the first step in building some momentum, making it a priority and sticking with a plan.

Never Stop Exploring ❤,
Aimee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

