UNWINDING AT SCANDINAVE SPA – RUNNER’S REWARD

Before we get started I wanted to make sure I share the RunWhistler Info Night event that Whistler Half Marathon is putting on a The North Face store in Whistler Village on May 6. Please go to the Facebook event page for more details and if you plan on attending we’ll need you to pre-register here (it’s free, don’t worry).

On Wednesday I was up at 5am to run with my running partners. Jen is running in the BMO Marathon this weekend and has a big goal that she is chasing down, so her workout for the day was a 5 min warm up, 15 min tempo run and 5 min cool down. Admittedly, I have slacked off in the speed work area of my training so this was a tough run for me even though it was short. That being said, it was so fun to push myself and run fast.

Now, I don’t want to make anyone jealous, but I had a pretty awesome day of “nothing” planned after that. I went to Hot yoga, and then packed myself up and headed to Whistler’s Scandinave Spa. My goal was to hit the baths/steam/sauna for an hour and then pass out in the sunshine if at all possible.

Does this place not just SCREAM

Does this place not just SCREAM “relaxation”?! But shhhh, no talking allowed.  photo from Scandinave’s Facebook page

There was rain all around Whistler on Wednesday. From where I sat at the spa, I could see that all of our mountains were hidden behind clouds, if not absolutely socked in with rain as well. Yes, there was a short stretch of sprinkling rain, but for my prescribed nap time I was in the sunshine.

“It’s always sunny at Scandinave” as my friend Andrea says. There is something about that place that makes your ills fall away. It was a quiet morning, not many people at the spa yet, which meant the serenity of my surroundings was amplified. I usually bring a book with me if I’m there solo, but this time I was empty-handed.

Hydrotherapy is an amazing way to recharge your body. I know that every time I go to Scandinave I walk away feeling like I’ve just given myself a valuable gift. You might think me crazy but one of my favourite parts of the experience is dunking myself in the super cold water after a session in one of the hot/warming options. This practice of hydrotherapy has become something that I look forward to, it is self-care on a whole new playing field.

From their website:

The Scandinavian Baths Experience

Widely recognized for its energizing and relaxing effects, the Scandinavian baths experience, also known as hydrotherapy, is associated with many benefits. In addition to cleansing the body, it stimulates blood circulation and the release of endorphins. Occurring in three stages, just a few hours are required to fully enjoy the benefits of hydrotherapy.

What is hydrotherapy?

Hydrotherapy is the use of water with contrast in temperature to revitalize, maintain and restore health. The recuperative and healing properties of hydrotherapy are based on its thermal effects. It enhances the body’s reaction to hot and cold stimuli. Generally, heat quiets and soothes the body. Cold, in contrast, stimulates and invigorates, increasing internal activity.

Alternating hot and cold water improves elimination of toxins, decreases inflammation and stimulates circulation. Hydrotherapy treatments include saunas, steam baths, hot baths, and cold plunges.

As a runner, treating yourself to a visit to Scandinave is a beautiful way to recover. Especially after the hard work of running the half marathon. Your muscles will be soothed into recovery mode; Screen Shot 2015-05-01 at 6.21.58 AMadding a massage treatment to your visit takes it to the next level and you’ll be saying,”What half marathon?”. I think they should put actual beds somewhere on the property so those ready to spend the night and just sleep it off can do so.

Make sure you check your event SWAG bag because there could be something among the magazines and samples from Scandinave. Get yourself to the spa after your race!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to UNWINDING AT SCANDINAVE SPA – RUNNER’S REWARD

  1. trailmomma says:

    Sounds like a lovely and perfect day.

Leave a Reply

