Running BIG!

As Clara mentioned yesterday last weekend was one of the largest 10k road races in North America – The Vancouver Sun Run. It’s an intimate little affair – just you and 50,000 of your bestest friends running and walking through the streets of Vancouver!

This is my third time taking part – the first time back in 2006 when I was a tourist from England and it just happened to be when the run was on! All these years later and I now call Canada my home and the Vancouver Sun Run has still got to be one of my favourite big races ever!

Crowds aren’t for everyone, but I like to make exception for the Sun Run! The city is crazy busy with people – runners everywhere! On the day it seems everyone is even more friendly than usual – you end up in the elevator at the hotel with a fellow runner and you start chatting and trading tips (mine is to not sweat the 9am start time – due to the tens of thousands of people it takes over an hour for the later corrals to get going so if you’re a few minutes late you won’t get left behind, and since it’s chip timed your time won’t count till YOU cross the start mat – it was good for me to remember this especially when I needed that last minute pit stop!!).

Following the race the city is swarming with runners. The race t-shirts can be seen everywhere, and many people still have their race bibs attached as they head straight out for lunch post-race. You smile and nod and chat to random people in restaurants because today you have this wonderful connection with so many fellow human beings – I love the sense of camaraderie and sportsmanship and everywhere you turn there’s a happy smiling face. I think I might actually feel sorry for those tourists that picked today to visit Vancouver and didn’t  take part – they look a little bewildered and lost amongst us all!!

Large races are truly a unique experience in themselves. If you haven’t tried one then I wholeheartedly recommend you do. It’s so very different from the smaller races; they both have their pros and cons. But at the same time I almost wouldn’t want to pitch them against each other as it’s a different vibe altogether! I know I can feel that BUZZ and that sense of being alive as I’m jostled along a 10km course for 50+ minutes with 50,000 others through one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

The Sun Run isn’t about a getting a super-duper result (although I was pretty darn pleased with my performance) – for me it’s about a weekend away in the city, spending time with friends, and experiencing the atmosphere that IS the Vancouver Sun Run.

Biased?! – heck yes! But try it for yourself if you haven’t already!

~ Helen

About britchick74

Brit Chick now living in beautiful BC...blogging about running, fitness, healthy living, food, crafts, travel, my cute vizsla puppy and my awesome (eh!) Canadian life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

