Running as a team sport!

Most of the time running is a very personal sport. The races we run are personal and we generally compete against no-one other than ourselves and our own goals. Sure we may train with other people, be part of a brilliant run clinic or club or be part of a fund-raising team at the event. But on the day, for most of us – it’s our own body (and mind!) that get us to the finish line – no-one can do it for us.

But this weekend running will become a team sport for the first time in my little running world! On Friday and Saturday I’ll be part of a team of 12 running from Huntington Beach to San Diego, CA -around 195 miles over the course of 36 hours in the SoCal Ragnar Relay race. To say I’m excited is an understatement!!

I’m always nervous before a race, but this one feels a little different. This time it’s not just me out there – I’ve got 11 other people to ‘worry’ about. Added to which I’ve never met any of my team-mates ‘in real life’. We’re all part of an international ‘cyber team’ of sporty women, and we motivate and support each other across the interwebs on Facebook and via email.

We will most certainly not be running to cross the finish line first. Our goal is to meet and connect with each other, to make new friendships, to laugh a lot, to sleep very little and to encourage and support each other every step of our journey (oh yes, and there’s some running along the way!). We have a huge range of paces on our team but each of us from the fastest to the slowest will be running as part of a team, and our combined efforts will be what get us to that finish line for this particular event.

I’m excited that my love for running has lead me down this path and presented me this opportunity. And I’m raring to head south (I mean the temps are in the 70’s down there peeps – of course I’m raring to go!!) The last time I played a team sport was probably back in high school, and honestly I miss it – the camaraderie, the banter, the fun, the friendships and connections! And this weekend I’m looking forward to getting some of that back. With running no less!!

~ Helen

About britchick74

Brit Chick now living in beautiful BC...blogging about running, fitness, healthy living, food, crafts, travel, my cute vizsla puppy and my awesome (eh!) Canadian life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

