Chocolate Banana Protein Pancakes

I’ve discovered my new favourite post-run breakfast – Protein pancakes without the protein powder! Wanna try them for yourself?! Here’s my recipe;

 photo ChocolateBananaProteinPancakesIngredients_zps32a579f5.jpg
Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

    • 2 Eggs
    • 1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt
    • 7 Tbsp Whole Wheat Flour
    • 2 Tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
    • 1/2 Tbsp Coconut Sugar
    • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
    • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
    • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
    • 1/4 tsp sea salt
    • 1 Banana (sliced)
    • Coconut Oil

In a bowl beat the eggs, then add the Greek yoghurt and fold in to combine. Then add all remaining ingredients and stir gently – you don’t want to whisk this up – just be gentle and do the bare minimum to make sure everything is mixed. I used an omelette pan to cook my pancakes – I added coconut oil for each new pancake. This batter cooks really quickly – I found I only needed to cook for 45-60 seconds on the first side before it was sealed and easy to flip! Whilst the first side is cooking add some sliced bananas onto the pancakes before you flip over for the second side!

 photo ChocolateBananaProteinPancakes_zpse2c62d2f.jpg
Pancakes are my favourite weekend breakfast, and since my long runs are usually on the weekend I’ve found that the two just go hand-in-hand for me!! And this recipe packs a great protein punch without using any powders.  I’ve figured that one serving of these (3 small pancakes) total around 17g protein and 42g of carbs which makes a great post-run meal! (calculated using myfitnesspal.com)

About britchick74

Brit Chick now living in beautiful BC...blogging about running, fitness, healthy living, food, crafts, travel, my cute vizsla puppy and my awesome (eh!) Canadian life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Banana Protein Pancakes

  1. Awesome recipe. Will be sure to try it !

    • britchick74 says:

      I love the base recipe with the yogurt and eggs but I’ve been adding in some other great options – coconut flour also worked but the batter was pretty thick I had to spoon it out!! And I’ve also added shredded coconut, blueberries and other stuff!

Leave a Reply

