Traveling with running shoes

It’s been a bit tough to keep to a training plan in the last week and a bit. I can’t complain too much; it’s mostly because my work has sent me on a last-minute trip to Japan. This brings me to the single most important thing I’ve learned about traveling over the past several years: never forget your running shoes!

One of the great things about running is how easily it travels. Going to a warm place? Throw in running shoes, a couple of pairs of socks, a pair of shorts, and a shirt or two, and bang, you can run.

Running, it turns out, is also a great way to explore cities, or check them out for later, more leisurely, tours. Yokohama, Japan (as I’m discovering), despite being heavily urban, has paths by the waterfront that are popular with runners. Tokyo itself is dotted with green space. Once outside these urban centres, there are small, green, steep-sided mountains with some beautiful hiking/running trail (the touristy town of Kamakura is a great place to run from).

Not only is running easy, for me, it makes the day much more enjoyable. I’ve been working 11 or 12 hours days here (I couldn’t stand these hours on a regular basis!) and the energy from the run in the morning helps get me through the day.

So next time you travel, for work or pleasure: take it from me, bring your running shoes. You’ll be amazed at how many people you see out running, and you won’t regret it. Now, to turn these runs into proper half-marathon training: that’s a whole other kettle of fish…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Traveling with running shoes

  1. Ed I couldn’t agree with you more! It’s the first thing I pack into my suitcase; or into my backpack, because if my luggage doesn’t reach my final destination; at least I can still go for a run in the morning!

Leave a Reply

