Racing time already?

Some time back in the fall, I set myself a bit of a schedule. I’m pretty antsy to try to improve on my 2010 marathon time from Victoria, so I’ve been focusing on the Vancouver Marathon in May. I figured the Sun Run 10k, conveniently three weeks before the marathon, would be a good tune-up, and that I could then keep training and carry the fitness through to the Whistler Half.

I had a similar plan last year, which was hijacked by an amazing opportunity to ski tour the Great Divide Traverse from Jasper to Lake Louise with three outstanding guys (www.theskitraverse.com if you’re very curious – there, there’s my plug). This year, I decided to stick to my running guns; I’ve been adding on trail races to my summer’s itinerary, but those three races have stayed in. That is how I find myself sitting here writing this, while 18 of my closest friends are enjoying a sunny weekend skiing up on the Duffey Lake Road.

Race season always happens like this. Training starts out nice and relaxed, gradually you start feeling fit, and suddenly BAM! there’s a race tomorrow! This is one reason I decided to run the Sun Run, to get less psyched out before Vancouver, but it’s still unnerving. It may be a tune-up race, but I still have goals, and I know that around the time I’m up and over the Burrard Bridge, my legs will have me wondering what the heck I’m doing. It comes on quick – comfortable at Beach Ave, in pain by 4th.

It’s all part of the game. I know I’ll toss and turn the night before a race, I’ll wake up antsy and twitchy, try to visualize the course and wonder what will happen. But when the gun goes – finally, it’ll all be back to racing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

