A Real Fake ………Early Mornings

“I often hear someone say I’m not a real runner. We are all runners, some just run faster than others. I never met a fake runner.”
-Bart Yasso

I love this quote. Being new to the sport, I admit to having my doubts about running. I do feel at times that I am a fake (“what am I doing starting to run at my age?” etc., etc.) but once I get going, even at my rather slow pace, it does feel good. My legs are feeling stronger now and it is becoming easier to go the distance I set. So real or fake, I am continuing with my training program.

Now- when to run? Morning, Afternoon, Evening? I love the idea of starting the day with a run but early mornings are just not my best time of the day. I envy runners that can get up at dawn and go for a run; I just can’t do it. I have tried all sorts of strategies: 2 alarms, self pep talks, laying out my running clothes the night before, it just doesn’t work. Hopefully as the mornings become warmer I may feel more inclined to get my laces tied and get out there before 10. But for now, I feel more energetic mid-day. Having settled on a routine of exercise after work I realize that I need to eat a healthier breakfast that will last the day. A friend at work shared her delicious homemade granola recipe which I have included below.  Click on “Granola Recipe”.

Breakfast of a 1/2 cup of granola, a large spoonful of greek low-fat yogurt and a handful of fresh berries or fruit is a great way to start the day.  High in protein at 11 gm. per serving of granola.

Granola recipe

Please try it and let me know what you think.

….and to those who are just starting to run I have included one more quote:

“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.”

-John Bingham

About pattysorensen

my loves- family, good health, travel, active lifestyle, clean design, new experiences
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

