Some friendly competition

I know that this blog is for running – but I’m a big believer in cross-training. I came to running mostly as cross-training for cross-country skiing, and I still enjoy a good ski now and again. I also enjoy a good bit of competition. Which brings us to… the McCarthy Cup.

I have an older brother, with whom I live, and with whom I’ve trained and raced for many a year in skiing and in running. We are a bit competitive; hence the Cup. It’s wound down in the last few years, as we ski race less, but the heart remains the same: whoever beats the other more often in ski races we both do throughout the season, wins.

Why do I mention this? Well, partly, because it’s been a big motivator to always have someone to compete with and someone to bother me to get up and run at 6 in the morning (if not earlier). Also, partly because I’ve been losing the past few seasons, and I like winning.

Cypress has a great Tuesday Night Race Series (Toonie Tuesdays. Everyone should be there!) Finally, this Tuesday night, I was able to take the lead in the McCarthy Cup for the first time in years. 2012 score so far: 1-0 for Ed, in a 13-ish km classic race. Now I’m just hoping that there are no sprint races we have to do, because he’ll win…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment