Work always gets in the way of training

For most of my life, I’ve been a student. It’s kind of a spoiled lifestyle. You get to train pretty much as much as you want, any day of the week, as long as you showed up, write some exams, hand in a thesis, etc. etc. etc. (thanks for the understanding, professors!) Now, suddenly, for the last year and a half (it feels sudden, ok?) I find myself with a job. It has its perks – it’s nice to be able to replace old running shoes without twinges of guilt – but I find that the best training hours of the day are taken up by work! It’s inconvenient, to say the least.

Last summer, I was spotty at best at dealing with this. Training hours suffered; my racing suffered. I felt fit in early June (right after ski touring season) and again in September, after getting motivated again, but the summer seemed like a write-off.

This year is about finding solutions! The first thing that’s working: consistency. I’ve found a weekly rhythm that works, and I’m sticking to it. It’s a lot easier to say “Wednesday tomorrow; time to run to work” than to decide on a rainy Wednesday that running to work is a good idea (somehow, it never seems like it is). The second thing: effective time use. Running to and from work kills the commuting and training birds with the same stone. There are three possible times in the day to run; morning, at lunch, and after work. If I can’t use one of them, I try to get in runs in the other two. Finally, doing two shorter workouts a day is a pretty decent early season substitue for doing excessively long runs that don’t fit into the day!

Will it work? I’ll have to wait until race time to see…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

