January blahs

January always feels to me like it’s a hard time of year to train. It’s dark, it’s cold, and it’s wet. It’s the time I that Christmas cookies and turkey slow me down; the time everyone is sick on the long flight home to Ontario; and the time that late nights and a few beverages with old friends bring the old immune system down to zero. On top of that, coming back to Vancouver with a head cold, all I can see are snow-covered mountains just begging to be skied. It’s hard to go out running!

So what’s a guy to do? I think, after years of a permanent winter cold, even while racing, I’ve figured out what to do when sick: nothing. Drink tea – preferably with tasty lemon, ginger, and honey – find a good book, and take a seat. Sure, when the going gets tough, the tough get going, but I think that when the tough get sick they might stay sick. In the big picture, it’s a lot better for a race in June to take two days off in January, than to train at 50% for two months and miss all the weekend powder days.

On top of that, I think that my cubicle neighbours are probably happy not to hear my sniffling all the time. Now that the cold’s gone, it’s time to get back to some serious running – maybe easier said than done, but we’ll see…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January blahs

Leave a Reply

