Old Friends, New Friends

Starting to train this past week at Gleneagles Gym in West Vancouver has been a surprising pleasant experience.
In previous years, my attendance at the gym has been sporadic- at the best. But since signing up the for 1/2 marathon- I decided to dedicate the next few months to regular work-outs. Treadmill, bike, rowing machine, weights.
The surprise has been that I actually enjoy the routine. Although, I have to admit that it is mostly due to the people I have met. I ran into friends that I haven’t seen for ages. What a pleasant way to warm up on the treadmill – catching up on news with an old friend; sharing stories.

With a common goal of fitness, the gym is a great way to meet new friends. Thank you Jennifer for your words of encouragement- I look forward to our next run and exchange of ideas.
As I was leaving the gym last night, one of the fitness trainers asked me if I had a good workout. In response I smiled “Yes, but I want to learn to run faster”. His reply- “It will come- it is more important that you leave here with a smile of your face— that way, you will want to come back again.”

How true!

About pattysorensen

my loves- family, good health, travel, active lifestyle, clean design, new experiences
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

